SJS Academic Calendar

2019 – First Semester

August 27-28: Tuesday – Wednesday Registration for First Semester

Aug. 29-Sept. 1: Thursday - Sunday Retreat

September 2: Monday Labor Day – No Classes at SJS (Seminary and Institute)

September 3: Tuesday First Semester Classes Begin

September 16: Monday Last Day for Course Changes

October 14: Monday Columbus Day – No Classes at SJS (Seminary and Institute)

November 1: Friday Feast of All Saints – No Classes at Seminary

November 11: Monday Veterans’ Day – No Classes at Seminary

November 13: Wednesday Last Day for Submission of M.A./M.T.S. Thesis

November 20: Wednesday Registration for Second Semester Begins

November 26: Tuesday Thanksgiving Recess Begins after Last Class or Pastoral Formation at Seminary

November 28: Thursday Thanksgiving Day – No Classes at Institute

December 2: Monday Classes Resume

December 13: Friday Last Class Day for First Semester

December 14: Saturday Reading Day

December 16-19: Monday - Thursday Semester Examinations

December 19: Thursday Christmas Recess Begins after Mass or Examination


2020 – Second Semester

January 5-10: Sunday-Friday Retreat

January 13: Monday Second Semester Classes Begin

January 20: Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day – No Classes at Seminary

January 23-24: Thursday-Friday March for Life, Washington, D.C. – No Classes at Seminary

January 27: Monday Last Day for Course Changes

February 17: Monday President’s Day – No Classes at SJS (Seminary and Institute)

February 26: Wednesday Ash Wednesday Retreat – No Classes at Seminary

February 28: Friday Mid-Semester Vacation Begins after Last Class or Pastoral Formation at all SJS

March 9: Monday Classes Resume

April 7: Tuesday Blessing of Holy Chrism – No Classes at Seminary

April 9: Thursday Classes End at Noon for Easter Triduum and Easter Recess at all SJS

April 14: Tuesday Classes Resume at Institute

April 15: Wednesday Classes Resume at Seminary

April 20: Monday Patriots’ Day – No Classes at SJS (Seminary and Institute)

April 22: Wednesday Last Day for Submission of M.A./M.T.S. Thesis

April 24: Friday Registration for the Fall Semester Begins

May 8: Friday Last Day of Class for Second Semester

May 9: Saturday Reading Day

May 11-14: Monday - Thursday Semester Examinations

May 14: Thursday Close of the Academic Year after Mass